Thatched roof houses

Alejandro Ruiz de la Puente - San Cristobal School - 4th A

Dear friends,

Thatching is the craft of building a roof with dry vegetation such as straw.

The first time I saw a thatched roof house was in Cherhill, a small village in Wiltshire, England. I was only 12 and good friends of my parents took me into their home for that summer. It was the first time traveling abroad and everything seemed new for me. I remember many things from that fantastic experience. However, the spectacular scenery of the English countryside was one of the things that struck me. And of course, those white houses and pubs with its thatched roofs stood out from the beginning.

Over time, I have seen such houses throughout the United Kingdom and Ireland. However, thatch has probably been used to cover roofs all over the globe since at least the Neolithic period.

I am sure that when you have the chance to see them for the first time you will love them. Meanwhile, Alex has made this beautiful picture of a thatched roof house. Click on it to see a bigger view. Thank you Alex!

Click here to see a gallery of photos about thatching.

Enjoy this long weekend!

So say we all

