6th Grade – Science – Unit 6

“The Force will be with you, always.”

(Obi-Wan Kenobi)

A few images illustrating forces. By Penubag (not a student)

Dear 6th Graders,

New year and new lesson of Science. Unit 6 is called “forces”. The Physics aspect of force, of course! ūüėÄ As always, I have prepared my usual concept map. However, I’ve been thinking a lot and I have decided that I’m not going to post it yet since I would like that you developed your own one first… I will upload mine in just a few days. Meanwhile, I have found some interesting resources that surely will help you deal with this fantastic topic.

But first I would like that took a look at the great picture Ramon has drawn to illustrate the unit:

“I think you haven’t understood very well the definition of FORCE…” Ram√≥n Femen√≠a Mart√≠nez – 6th Grade A

It’s cool, isn’t it? OK, let me show you some interesting websites:

· Learn what forces are and what they can do in this great animation with audio: here

· Watch an interactive animation about the different types of forces with relevant examples. There is a summary activity at the end: here

· Gravity, stretching and compression. Take a closer look at these type of forces: here

Humoristic picture of Isaac Newton. By Pokipsy76 (not a student)

Look, I have also found these interesting videos:

· Watch this short clip in which they discuss the basic nature of gravity:

· In this video a Physics expert demonstrate his physics experiments to science staff: here

OK, this all for today. I will be happy to know your opinions about the topic.

I hope everything is useful!

Enjoy.

So say we all!!

